Search
  • Alex Lopez

Something Like Gravity Spotlight and Favorite Quotes


Favorite Quotes

"If you've always been defined, not as a full-fledged person, but solely as another person's polar opposite, and that person no longer exists, do you also cease to exist?"

“…life doesn’t wait until you’re perfect, or better, or out of pain for you to be alive.”

"It made them feel better to think certain things about me."

"We are both the right people, in exactly the right place, at exactly the right time."

The concept of Something Like Gravity held great degrees of courage about living true to yourself. The protagonists, Chris and Maia, were conveyed as characters who are growing into their own personas while trying to overcome their individual traumas. Amber Smith is an author who can convey varying themes and her work, The Way I Used to Be, left quite an impact on me. However after discussing some of the scenes and the overall nature of the book with my close friends who are members of the LGTBQ+ community, I will be respectfully omitting my review until after the blog tour.

ABOUT THE BOOK

Something Like Gravity

by Amber Smith Publisher: Margaret K. McElderry Books Release Date: June 18th 2019

Genre: Contemporary, LGBT, Young Adult, Romance

Synopsis:

For fans of Love, Simon and Eleanor and Park, a romantic and sweet novel about a transgender boy who falls in love for the first time—and how first love changes us all—from New York Times bestselling author Amber Smith.

Chris and Maia aren’t off to a great start.

A near-fatal car accident first brings them together, and their next encounters don’t fare much better. Chris’s good intentions backfire. Maia’s temper gets the best of her.

But they’re neighbors, at least for the summer, and despite their best efforts, they just can’t seem to stay away from each other.

The path forward isn’t easy. Chris has come out as transgender, but he’s still processing a frightening assault he survived the year before. Maia is grieving the loss of her older sister and trying to find her place in the world without her. Falling in love was the last thing on either of their minds.

But would it be so bad if it happened anyway?

BOOK LINKS

Goodreads | Amazon | B&N | iTunes | Book Depository | Google Books

ABOUT THE AUTHOR

Amber Smith is the New York Times bestselling author of the young adult novels The Way I Used to Be, The Last to Let Go, and Something Like Gravity. An advocate for increased awareness of gendered violence, as well as LGBTQ equality, she writes in the hope that her books can help to foster change and spark dialogue surrounding these issues. She grew up in Buffalo, New York, and now lives in Charlotte, North Carolina with her partner and their ever-growing family of rescued dogs and cats. You can find her online at AmberSmithAuthor.com.

Author Links

Website| Goodreads | Facebook | Twitter | Instagram

TOUR SCHEDULE

Click on the banner for the full blog tour!

AUTHOR BOOK PLAYLIST

GIVEAWAY

Prize:

Win a copy of Something Like Gravity by Amber Smith

(US Only)

Starts: June 18th 2019

Ends: July 2nd 2019

click here


©2019 by The Reading Corner for All. ​