Search
  • Alex Lopez

Every Other Weekend

Adam Moynihan is torn by the loss of his brother and the effects it had on his family. Unable to bear with the situation, his father decides to leave their home and separate from his mother. Caught between his anger over his father's cowardice, and his mother's sadness, Adam finds himself at life's crossroads.


For Jolene "Jo" Timber, life exists in the form of the movies she creates with her ever present camera. Except, she knows that life is not made of the picture perfect moments. There are empty scenes where her father is missing and instead Shelley, his girlfriend, crowds to be in the picture where her mother looks on in the background with a bottle in hand. Jolene dreams of being sixteen and gaining the freedom to escape and becoming a filmmaker in Los Angeles. Until then, the world is just a matter of pixels and structured narratives.


Both Adam and Jolene are forced to stay in a run down apartment complex as a result of their parents' separation and divorce agreement. At first glance, this building reflects the perfect ruins that comprises of their lives.


Yet, before long, boy meets girl and life floods back in.


Every Other Weekend by Abigail Johnson was an absolute treasure fulled to the brim with emotional gems and soul-searching characters who are finding their way in this world. Johnson's alternation between Adam and Jolene's narrative exhibits her own powerful voice that captures the spirit of the modern teenager. Between Adam's inherent sweet nature and Jo's spunky, unconventional personality, I became absolutely endeared to the story. For fans of Nick and Norah's Infinite Playlist and Every Day, this should definitely be your next read!





BOOK INFORMATION



Every Other Weekend

by Abigail Johnson Publisher: Inkyard Press Release Date: January 7th 2020

Genre: Young Adult, Contemporary, Romance

Synopsis:


What if your safe place…is a person?


Adam Moynihan’s life used to be

awesome. Straight As, close friends and a home life so perfect that it could have been a TV show straight out of the 50s. Then his oldest brother died. Now his fun-loving mom cries constantly, he and his remaining brother can’t talk without fighting, and the father he always admired proved himself a coward by moving out when they needed him most.


Jolene Timber’s life is nothing like the movies she loves—not the happy ones anyway. As an aspiring director, she should know, because she’s been reimagining her life as a film ever since she was a kid. With her divorced parents at each other’s throats and using her as a pawn, no amount of mental reediting will give her the love she’s starving for.


Forced to spend every other weekend in the same apartment building, the boy who thinks forgiveness makes him weak and the girl who thinks love is for fools begin an unlikely friendship. The weekends he dreaded and she endured soon become the best part of their lives. But when one’s life begins to mend while the other’s spirals out of control, they realize that falling in love while surrounded by its demise means nothing is ever guaranteed.


BOOK LINKS


Goodreads:

https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/36547225-every-other-weekend

Amazon:

https://amzn.to/2BQs5TN

B&N:

https://www.barnesandnoble.com/w/every-other-weekend-abigail-johnson/1131057170#/

iTunes:

https://books.apple.com/us/book/every-other-weekend/id1458095108

Kobo:

https://www.kobo.com/ww/en/ebook/every-other-weekend-8

Google Books:

https://books.google.co.uk/books/about/Every_Other_Weekend.html?id=zum3wwEACAAJ&redir_esc=y





AUTHOR INFORMATION




Abigail was born in Pennsylvania. When she was twelve, her family traded in snow storms for year round summers, and moved to Arizona. Abigail chronicled the entire cross-country road trip (in a purple spiral bound notebook that she still has) and has been writing ever since. She became a tetraplegic after breaking her neck in a car accident when she was seventeen, but hasn’t let that stop her from bodysurfing in Mexico, writing and directing a high school production of Cinderella, and becoming a published author.



AUTHOR LINKS


Goodreads:

https://www.goodreads.com/author/show/14981314.Abigail_Johnson

Website:

https://abigailjohnsonbooks.com/

Twitter:

https://twitter.com/AbigailsWriting

Instagram:

https://www.instagram.com/abigailjohnsonya/

Pinterest:

https://www.pinterest.com/AbigailJBooks/

Youtube:

https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCL9O1-rxWb7JQPM2iRMaUSQ

Facebook:

https://www.facebook.com/abigailjohnsonYA/





TOUR SCHEDULE







GIVEAWAY


PRIZE: Win (1) of (2) copies of

EVERY OTHER WEEKEND by Abigail Johnson

(US Only)

STARTS: 7th January 2020

ENDS: 21st January 2020






1 comment

©2019 by The Reading Corner for All. ​