©2019 by The Reading Corner for All. ​

Search
  • Alex Lopez

Havenfall

As Shakespeare once said, "There are more things in heaven and earth...Than are dreamt of in your philosophy." In Sara Holland's latest work, a land of ice and frost crosses with a world of two suns and three moons and a closed doorway to a place without a sun but a golden sky. There is a juncture where all the beings of these worlds can meet under the Peace Treaty alliance of the Last Remaining Adjacent Realms: the human world of Earth.


The Inn at Havenfall has been a sanctuary that has withstood the congregations of the Byrnisians and Fiordens where Maddie Morrow's family have been innkeepers, and mediators, for decades. After a turbulent past that resulted in the loss of her brother, Maddie seeks to escape the whispers and stares of her town by stepping into her role as the next innkeeper of Havenfall under the wing of her uncle, the current innkeeper. Not to mention that Havenfall also allows Maddie the opportunity to see her childhood friend Brekken - a Fiorden soldier who makes Maddie's heart beat with the promise of something more.


Yet even Maddie's safe place soon is shadowed by the emergence of a dark force that threatens to ruin the peace of the three worlds. When her uncle is taken ill, Maddie is suddenly thrust into the role of Havenfall's innkeeper and, without the guidance of her uncle, she must find her voice to moderate the delegates of Byrnisians and Fiordens while trying to track down the being responsible for wrecking the sanctuary at Havenfall.


Sara Holland once again demonstrates the magic of world-building in this first installment of the Havenfall series. Maddie was an individual who showed a great amount of resolve in the midst of trying circumstances and her vulnerabilities made her an empathetic character that readers can root for. I certainly look forward to the next chronicle of Maddie's life at Havenfall!



Playlist



Favorite Quotes


"We all see what we want to see, love, but there are no monsters, just people who do horrible things."


"...strife shapes us into who we are meant to be."


"And at night, the windows cast thousands of speckles of refracted light over everything and make you feel part of the stars."


"I have to push through. I have to do better. Even if it feels like the magic has turned to poison."


"Soon, she'll give her life to protect that secret. And sometimes I feel like she's already given her soul."


"We all want to believe the best of intentions in others...But it's not always the truth."



BOOK INFORMATION



Havenfall (Havenfall #1)

by Sara Holland Publisher: Bloomsbury YA Release Date: March 3rd 2020

Genre: Young Adult, Fantasy


Synopsis:


A safe haven between four realms. The girl sworn to protect it--at any cost. New York Times bestselling author Sara Holland crafts a breathtaking new contemporary fantasy perfect for fans of Melissa Albert and Holly Black.


Hidden deep in the mountains of Colorado lies the Inn at Havenfall, a sanctuary that connects ancient worlds--each with their own magic--together. For generations, the inn has protected all who seek refuge within its walls, and any who disrupt the peace can never return.


For Maddie Morrow, summers at the inn are more than a chance to experience this magic first-hand. Havenfall is an escape from reality, where her mother sits on death row accused of murdering Maddie's brother. It's where Maddie fell in love with handsome Fiorden soldier Brekken. And it's where one day she hopes to inherit the role of Innkeeper from her beloved uncle.


But this summer, the impossible happens--a dead body is found, shattering everything the inn stands for. With Brekken missing, her uncle gravely injured, and a dangerous creature on the loose, Maddie suddenly finds herself responsible for the safety of everyone in Havenfall. She'll do anything to uncover the truth, even if it means working together with an alluring new staffer Taya, who seems to know more than she's letting on. As dark secrets are revealed about the inn itself, one thing becomes clear to Maddie--no one can be trusted, and no one is safe . . .


Sara Holland takes the lush fantasy that captured readers in Everless and Evermore and weaves it into the real world to create a wholly captivating new series where power and peril lurk behind every door.


BOOK LINKS


Goodreads:

https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/44281011-havenfall


Amazon:

https://amzn.to/2DVfWOw


B&N:

https://www.barnesandnoble.com/w/havenfall-sara-holland/1130768988?ean=9781547603794


iTunes:

https://books.apple.com/us/author/sara-holland/id1147058533


Bookdepository:

https://www.bookdepository.com/Havenfall-Sara-Holland/9781526614889?ref=grid-view&qid=1575672245512&sr=1-1


Google Books:

https://play.google.com/store/books/details/Sara_Holland_Havenfall?id=l62qDwAAQBAJ




AUTHOR INFORMATION



Sara Holland grew up in small-town Minnesota among hundreds of books. She graduated from Wesleyan University and worked in a tea shop, a dentist’s office, and a state capitol building before heading to New York to work in publishing. These days, she can be found exploring the city’s bookstores or finding new ways to put caffeine in her bloodstream. Everless is her debut novel.


AUTHOR LINKS


Website:

https://www.sarahollandwrites.com/


Goodreads:

https://www.goodreads.com/author/show/16022936.Sara_Holland


Twitter:

https://twitter.com/Sara__Holland


Facebook:

https://www.facebook.com/pg/sarahollandwrites/about/


Instagram:

https://www.instagram.com/sarahollandwrites/