Search
  • Alex Lopez

The Silence of Bones

When our lives are cut short by an untimely end, all that remain are unanswered questions that perplex the living.

Who could have done this?

Why did they do this?

But the dead do not worry for these things. They already know the final truths of life. Still, the living are in a perpetual quest to know the motives behind a murder and to bringer the murderer to justice.


The dead do their best to keep their secrets. Since air now longer flows through their body, they cannot whisper the answers to your questions. However, they leave clues for you to unravel their tangled lives and simplify it to facts that point towards the end.


The silence of bones is irreversible. Yet, by pressing your ear close to their lives, you'll hear them whisper their past.


The Silence of Bones by June Hur was a remarkable multi-layered story that centers around Seol, an indentured servant who works with a police bureau during the 1800's in Joseon (which we now know as Korea). At the beginning, there is a murder most fowl involving Lady O, a noblewoman with a perfect reputation...or so it seems. As Seol accompanies Inspector Han on his investigation, secrets of the dead are uncovered by the living and when evidence leads to undeniable truths, Seol must decide if she should reserve the silence servants are expected to uphold, or voice her findings despite the costs.


This was an absolutely singular read that I'd highly recommend as a #Roaring20's debut that showcases a spectacular narrative and a journey that will captivate your heart.



Playlist




Book Aesthetic


Favorite Quotes


"Before I'd even learned to walk, I had learned of death."


"I have a mouth, but I mustn't speak; ears, but I mustn't hear; ears, but I mustn't see."


"...the only thing occupying his heart was love for no one other than himself."


"Fate. A shackle as solid as truth-unchangeable, unmovable."


"Wealth and power must make a man untouchable, sir."


"Each decision you make, you will look back to it one day and realize that it took something out of you, never to be replaced."


"There is too much empathy in you, though, and it will burn you out."


"One mountain cannot abide two tiger."


"The dead are gone, yet we live in their shadows."


"There is no such things as always. Loyal you mean, until one of you dies."


"No one in this entire kingdom can care for you as deeply as family."


"There are only two types of people. Those you protect and those you crush so that they can never rise up again."


"It would be easier to find rest if only I could see the sun, to feel its soothing warmth."


"The world looks so immense when you've lost someone."


"The dead always look lovelier, warmer, and brighter. A living woman pales in comparison."


"Sometimes betrayal is the deepest expression of love."



BOOK INFORMATION



The Silence of Bones

by June Hur Publisher: Feiwel & Friends Release Date: April 21st 2020

Genre: Young Adult, Mystery, Historical, Historical Fiction

Synopsis:

I have a mouth, but I mustn't speak;

Ears, but I mustn't hear;

Eyes, but I mustn't see.

1800, Joseon (Korea). Homesick and orphaned sixteen-year-old Seol is living out the ancient curse: “May you live in interesting times.” Indentured to the police bureau, she’s been tasked with assisting a well-respected young inspector with the investigation into the politically charged murder of a noblewoman.

As they delve deeper into the dead woman's secrets, Seol forms an unlikely bond of friendship with the inspector. But her loyalty is tested when he becomes the prime suspect, and Seol may be the only one capable of discovering what truly happened on the night of the murder.

But in a land where silence and obedience are valued above all else, curiosity can be deadly.

June Hur's elegant and haunting debut The Silence of Bones is a bloody tale perfect for fans of Kerri Maniscalco and Renée Ahdieh.

BOOK LINKS


Goodreads:

https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/44280973-the-silence-of-bones


Amazon:

https://amzn.to/3bWH0wu


B&N:

www.barnesandnoble.com/w/the-silence-of-bones-june-hur/1130769087?ean=9781250229557#/


Bookdepository:

https://www.bookdepository.com/book/9781250229557


Kobo:

https://www.kobo.com/gb/en/ebook/the-silence-of-bones


Google Books:

https://books.google.co.uk/books/about/The_Silence_of_Bones.html?id=rHyhwgEACAAJ&redir_esc=y




AUTHOR INFORMATION





JUNE HUR (‘Hur’ as in ‘her’) was born in South Korea and raised in Canada, except for the time when she moved back to Korea and attended high school there. Most of her work is inspired by her journey through life as an individual, a dreamer, and a Christian, with all its confusions, doubts, absurdities and magnificence. She studied History and Literature at the University of Toronto, and currently works for the public library. She lives in Toronto with her husband and daughter.

Her debut novel THE SILENCE OF BONES (Feiwel & Friends/Macmillan, April 2020) is a murder mystery set in Joseon Dynasty Korea (early 1800s), and also a coming-of-age tale about a girl searching for home. It was recently selected by the American Booksellers Association as one of the top debuts of Winter/Spring 2020.

She is represented by Amy Bishop of Dystel, Goderich & Bourret LLC.

AUTHOR LINKS


Goodreads:

https://www.goodreads.com/author/show/18341009.June_Hur


Website:

https://junehur.wordpress.com/


Twitter:

https://twitter.com/writerjunehur


Instagram:

https://www.instagram.com/junehwrites/


Pinterest:

https://www.pinterest.ca/writerjunehur/


TOUR SCHEDULE




GIVEAWAY


Prize:

Win a $30 gift card from an indie bookstore

(US & Canada Only)

Starts: 15th April 2020

Ends: 29TH April 2020












©2019 by The Reading Corner for All. ​