©2019 by The Reading Corner for All. ​

December 6, 2019

December 3, 2019

November 25, 2019

November 25, 2019

November 19, 2019

November 18, 2019

November 15, 2019

November 13, 2019

November 8, 2019

Please reload

Recent Posts

The Weight of a Soul

December 6, 2019

1/10
Please reload

Featured Posts

The Witch of Willow Hall

September 22, 2018

Review

 

The Witch of Willow Hall is one of the most haunting books anyone can read in their lifetime. This book is superbly researched and while The Witch of Willow Hall takes place in the past, it has a modern feel that travels through the ages. I read this book past the witching hour because I couldn't possibly rest without knowing what happened next. The ghosts of the book creep up on the page and completely engulf you in the story. I'd recommend that The Witch of Willow Hall becomes your next read especially if you enjoy works by Kendare Blake or Kerri Maniscalco.

 

If this is Hester Fox's debut work, I can only imagine how promising her career as a writer shall be. 

 

 

 

 

The Witch of Willow Hall
by Hester Fox
Genre: Adult Historical Fantasy Fiction (YA Friendly)
Release Date: October 2nd 2018
Graydon House Books (Harlequin)

Summary:

Two centuries after the Salem witch trials, there’s still one witch left in Massachusetts. But she doesn’t even know it.

Take this as a warning: if you are not able or willing to control yourself, it will not only be you who suffers the consequences, but those around you, as well.

New Oldbury, 1821

In the wake of a scandal, the Montrose family and their three daughters—Catherine, Lydia and Emeline—flee Boston for their new country home, Willow Hall.

The estate seems sleepy and idyllic. But a subtle menace creeps into the atmosphere, remnants of a dark history that call to Lydia, and to the youngest, Emeline.

All three daughters will be irrevocably changed by what follows, but none more than Lydia, who must draw on a power she never knew she possessed if she wants to protect those she loves. For Willow Hall’s secrets will rise, in the end…

 

Add to Goodreads

Advance Praise:

 

"Hester Fox's The Witch of Willow Hall offers a fascinating location, a great plot with history and twists, and characters that live and breathe. I love the novel, and will be looking forward to all new works by this talented author!"

--Heather Graham, New York Times bestselling author


 

"Beautifully written, skillfully plotted, and filled with quiet terror, readers will devour this absorbing, Gothic tale of romance and suspense. Perfect for fans of Simone St James and Kate Morton."

-- Anna Lee Huber, the national bestselling author of the historical Lady Darby Mysteries


 

"Beautifully written, with an intriguing plot full of suspense and mystery, The Witch of Willow Hall will cast a spell over every reader."

-- Lisa Hall, author of Tell Me No Lies and Between You and Me


 

"I was entranced by this intriguing and spellbinding novel with its messages of love and loyalty and being true to who you really are. I hope Hester Fox goes on to write many more such novels--I for one will be buying them."

-- Kathleen McGurl, author of The Girl from Ballymor 


 

"With its sense of creeping menace and chilling undertones, this compelling story had me gripped from the first page. The vividly drawn characters cast their spell so convincingly, I couldn't stop reading until I discovered what happened to them. A wonderful debut novel.”

--Linda Finlay, author of The Flower Seller

 

About the Author

Hester comes to writing from a background in museum work and historical archaeology. She loves the Gothic, the lurid, the dark...so long as the ending is a happy one. She has never seen a ghost, though she remains hopeful.

Hester lives outside of Boston with her husband. The Witch of Willow Hall is her first novel.

 

Author Links:

WebsiteGoodreadsTwitterFacebook

Share on Facebook
Share on Twitter
Please reload

Follow Us